This article is a guide on how to Complete, Delete or Archive a contract.
This article contains the following:
- How to Edit the Contract State
- What Will Happen to the Contract in Each State?
- New 'Export' Feature
We have created the ability to set a Project and/or Contract state to Completed/Archived/Deleted via the UI. This feature is currently only available to Built Intelligence to use when requested by our customers; however, the contract state will be visible to System Owners and Administrators from the Contract Overview page, and to all the users via the Contract Dashboard and Contract Registers, unless the contract has been deleted in which case General Users will not see them on the register.
Below is an example of how the contract state is shown on the dashboard; Completed will show in Green, and Archived will show in Amber.
How to Edit the Contract State
To edit the state of a contract, follow the steps below:
1. Using the navigation panel on the left-hand side of the page, go to Settings >> Contract >> Overview.
2. Next to 'Contract state', select which state you would like to put the contract in.
What Will Happen to the Contract in Each State?
See below for what each state will do to the contract:
- Deleted - users will be removed from the contract, and the contract will be hidden from registers and reports. No users can be added to a deleted contract. A deleted contract can be 'Restored' by a System Owner; users won't be reinstated but the contract will become visible again in registers and reports. The deleted date will still be visible. Only System Owners and Administrators can see the state via the Contract Dashboard and Contract Registers.
- Archived - it will not be possible to generate any communications or make any updates to the contract. No contract users are deleted when a contract is archived. The Archive date is updated. An Archived Contract can be restored from Archive and it can also be deleted. All users can see the state via the Contract Dashboard and Contract Registers.
- Complete - this should not be actioned until completion has been certified via a Completion Certificate. Once marked as Complete the contract can still be accessed and notifications sent as required - e.g. Defects Certificates. A Completed contract can be made Active again, archived, or deleted, and the original 'Complete Date' remains unaffected. When marked as 'Complete' for a second time, the 'Complete' date and time is updated. All users can see the state via the Contract Dashboard and Contract Registers.
New 'Export' Feature
A new feature that is currently only available to Built Intelligence will go live soon; the ability to 'Export' a contract. In the Contract Overview, there will be an 'Export' button next to the Contract State. This schedules a zip file to be exported overnight, and will provide a spreadsheet register of workflows, a pdf of notifications, plus any attachments added to notifications. This will save you having to do it manually, and you will be able to find the export in the Downloads page under Analytics in the left-hand navigation panel.
If you'd like to know more about Exporting a contract, or are interested in exporting your contracts, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.